Lake Elsinore Unified School District

Skip to main content
En Español

Board Members Sworn in, Officers Named

Juan I. Saucedo, Trustee Area 4, was reelected Board President at the December 8 meeting of the Governing Board after being sworn in, along with returning Board member Susan E. Scott, Area 2, and incoming Board member Steven L. Wood, Area 5. Stan Crippen, Trustee Area 1, was reelected as Board Clerk.

Both Saucedo and Scott were returned to office following an uncontested election in November. Ms. Scott has previously served two full terms, and President Saucedo begins his second full term.

Steven L. Wood was elected to serve the remaining two years of Tom Thomas’s term, which expires in November of 2018.Tom Thomas passed away in June 2015, leaving a vacancy in Trustee Area 5 that was previously filled by the one-year interim appointment of Harold E. Stryker.

During Board comments, President Saucedo stated that many hands were responsible for the District’s successful passage of LEUSD’s Measure V school bond, and took the opportunity to thank voters and campaign volunteers. Mr. Wood thanked voters for their support and said he was looking forward to serving.

Trustees are elected to four-year staggered terms within their respective trustee areas. Board officers are reorganized annually in December. Learn more about Board Terms and Trustee Area Maps.

Published Print